Some of my greatest personal accomplishments - Reisverslag uit Eureka, Verenigde Staten van Jet Smeets - WaarBenJij.nu Some of my greatest personal accomplishments - Reisverslag uit Eureka, Verenigde Staten van Jet Smeets - WaarBenJij.nu

Some of my greatest personal accomplishments

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Jet

29 Mei 2014 | Verenigde Staten, Eureka

1. Go to a foreign country without a perfectly laid out plan.
I have no plan, there is no route, I don’t have any activities planned and the Lonely Planet I own just covers California (which won’t restrict me on this trip). The only thing I know is that I want to visit my friend Maraya, who lives in Stanwood (near Seattle). I don’t know where I might go after I visit her.

2. Drive a car by myself, on the middle lane of a 6 lane road.
I get nervous when the rush hour lane in the Netherlands is open, let alone drive on a 6 lane road in a country where I know little about the rules, habits or signs of traffic. After a hectic start (driving from San Francisco Airport to Oakland Airport) I managed to get the hang of it. I safely made it from Oakland Airport to El Cerrito (on Monday) and from El Cerrito to Eureka (Wednesday). These trips where pretty stress free and I hope the rest of my trips will be the same.

3. Walk through San Francisco without a map or a sense of direction.
Got off the BART (Bay Area Rapid Transit) and just started walking. My goal was to walk over the Golden Gate Bridge and see Lombard Street, but I had no idea how to get there or how long it would take me. With the help of some complete strangers I eventually did both and then some. I could not stop smiling the whole time I was in San Francisco. The sun was shining, there was no fog (which means I got to see the top of the Golden Gate Bridge) and I had the freedom to do whatever I wanted, whenever I wanted.

4. Go on a road trip all alone.
For the first two nights I stayed with friends in El Cerrito (thank you so much Michele and Larry!), but now I am all by myself. I must say, so far so good. Today I arrived in Eureka, went to Old Town, had dinner and watched some movies in my motel room. Tomorrow I will be driving to Portland, which is a 9 hour drive on the 101 (scenic route, a little longer than the none-scenic route). A really long drive for someone who hasn’t done this before. I must say, I am not particularly looking forward to it.


There are more stories to come for those who are interested in reading about my personal little adventure. I will not be uploading any pictures on here, but I would love to show them when I get home to anyone who is interested.

  • 29 Mei 2014 - 09:08

    Birgit:

    Hey Djet!!
    Leuk om te lezen wat je allemaal meemaakt!
    Enne.. Ik vind het echt super stoer van je!
    Enjoy! XB

  • 29 Mei 2014 - 10:11

    Lidy:

    Inspiring! :-)
    Heel gaaf...
    Enjoy!!!
    X

  • 29 Mei 2014 - 10:28

    Erwin:

    Ha Jetje,

    Super leuk voor je, kan me voorstellen dat je het erg spannend vindt! Maar weet dat je alleen op deze manier de meest unieke ervaringen opdoet. Lekker op de bonnefooi!

    Geniet ervan en rij voorzichtig! ;-)

    X
    Je schoonbroertje

  • 29 Mei 2014 - 15:48

    Jen:

    De mooiste reizen maak je zonder planning. Je leert andere mensen kennen, plekken zien die je anders niet zag, maar vooral leer je over jezelf. Geniet er van Jet! Het is je gegund! Xx Jennnnn

  • 29 Mei 2014 - 16:38

    Astrid:

    Heeelemaal te gek Jettish!! Superleuk geschreven! Lekker vrij zijn, doen waar je zin in hebt :D reizen is heerlijk! ;) Succes en geniet van alles sjattie! Keep on smiling =D xxxx

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Verenigde Staten, Eureka

Jet

Actief sinds 23 Mei 2014
Verslag gelezen: 200
Totaal aantal bezoekers 1956

Voorgaande reizen:

22 Mei 2014 - 11 Juni 2014

A short visit

Landen bezocht: