The end... - Reisverslag uit Eureka, Verenigde Staten van Jet Smeets - WaarBenJij.nu The end... - Reisverslag uit Eureka, Verenigde Staten van Jet Smeets - WaarBenJij.nu

The end...

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Jet

07 Juni 2014 | Verenigde Staten, Eureka

My little adventure is coming to an end. I’ve enjoyed almost every minute of the past weeks (and I could probably stay another two), but I guess the thought of going home and seeing my friends, family and of course my two kitty’s is pretty great too! It'll also be the time to show people the pictures I took, tell them about the adventures I had and maybe get them as excited about this beautiful country as I am.

I’m spending this last weekend with my family in Ukiah. Today my aunt and I went for a walk at Lake Mendocino. It is really dry around here, so there was hardly any water in the lake, the sandy road near the lake had cracks in it and the grass was yellow instead of green. It was still very nice, but you could definitely see the dryness take its toll on pretty much everything. Besides that, there were dead fish in and around the lake. The smell was horrific. As soon as we smelt these dead fish we knew it was time to get out of there. We then did some shopping, had lunch at Schat's Dutch Bakery (yum!), went for a little swim in the neighbours pool and watched sports on tv.

There is a fundraiser for the Rotary Club tomorrow, and my dear aunt and I were supposed to do the 25 miles bicycle ride. Since we won’t be able to make it in time for the ride, instead we will be helping the people who are riding it (giving them bottled water, food and what not). It’ll be around 104F (which is 40C), so I totally don’t mind standing in the Redwood Forrest (where it is nice and cool) and handing out drinks instead of actually doing the bike ride. Also, the Redwood trees are just beautiful and amazing, so I won’t get bored when there are is no-one to help.

I’ll be driving to San Francisco on Monday and I’ll spent my last night somewhere near the airport. This way, I won’t have to rush on Tuesday morning to get from Ukiah to San Francisco, drop off my rental car, get to the airport and check in on time.

I’m not sad to go, because I know I’ll be back. Rather sooner than later I might add. There is still so much I want to see and experience. And I am sure I will see all I want to and experience all I have to. But for now, this little adventure is over…

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Verenigde Staten, Eureka

Jet

Actief sinds 23 Mei 2014
Verslag gelezen: 896
Totaal aantal bezoekers 1963

Voorgaande reizen:

22 Mei 2014 - 11 Juni 2014

A short visit

Landen bezocht: